What are the penalties for drunk driving in Maryland?

What are the penalties for drunk driving in Maryland?

| Jun 26, 2020 | Uncategorized

While all states have taken a stance against drunk driving with the implementation of serious penalties, Maryland’s laws are especially complex. For example, the state can charge you with impaired driving even if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) measures below 0.08%. In some other states, measuring under 0.08% typically means no charges.

If the authorities have filed drunk driving charges against you, it is wise to learn exactly what the consequences may be before deciding how to proceed. A great way to understand the charges and their penalties is to take your case to a skilled lawyer. This will give you the best chance of achieving the best outcome.

Continue reading to learn about the possible consequences upon a conviction for drunk driving:

  • A first offense for DUI (driving under the influence) with a BAC of 0.08% or higher typically results in up to one year of jail time and a fine of up to $1,000. Subsequent convictions will mean increased jail time and more costly fines.
  • A first offense for DWI (driving while impaired) with a BAC between 0.07% and 0.08% may result in a jail sentence of up to two months and up to $500 in fines. Subsequent convictions on DWI charges will come with increased penalties and fines.
  • If you are convicted of either a DUI or DWI while transporting children, your sentence will be much more severe in terms of jail time and fines. As above, the possible consequences will increase with each subsequent conviction on the same charges.

Although it sounds dire, you can overcome charges related to drunk driving. Your odds of success will improve with guidance from an experienced attorney who knows when and how to challenge the state on your behalf.